The African Mathematics Millennium Science Initiative (AMMSI) is an international NGO registered in Nairobi, Kenya. It operates as a distributed network of mathematics research, training, and promotion, throughout Africa, with the headquarters located in Kenya and six Regional Offices located in Botswana, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Congo, Morocco, Nigeria and Tanzania (for more details, see It was established through the initiative of the Millennium Science Initiative (MSI), a programme administered by the Science Initiative Group (SIG), the Third World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) and the African Academy of Sciences (AAS).

Postgraduate Scholarships to Institutions

One of the main goals of AMMSI is to strengthen mathematics learning and culture by supporting the training of postgraduate students in African institutions, through several mechanisms. Since 2016, this goal has been supported through a grant to AMMSI by Prof. Phillip Griffiths on his winning the Chern Prize in 2014.

Consequently, in 2019, AMMSI will award a number of partial scholarships, each not exceeding USD 1,000.  The scholarships will be awarded on merit and institutions in Africa may each nominate one to 2 candidates to be considered for the award. Please note that AMMSI is an equal opportunity organization, nomination of female students is highly encouraged.

Invitation for Scholarship Applications by Institutions

Applications are therefore invited for the 2019 AMMSI Postgraduate Scholarships, by Faculties, Schools, Institutes or Departments of Mathematics in universities in Africa, for support of Ph.D and M.Sc students of mathematics at those universities.  Direct applications by postgraduate students will not be considered.

How to Apply for the Scholarship

The application form on the download link below, should be filled and sent by e-mail only to:

Send a copy to:

Please note that the deadline for applications is 31st July 2019

Click to download Application form:


The AMMSI-Phillip Griffiths Prize for 2019 is awarded to Charles E. Chidume of the African...

The MARM programme will support mentoring relationships between mathematicians in the United...

AMMSI will award a number of partial scholarships, each not exceeding USD 1,000.  The scholarships...

In 2018, the AMMSI-Phillip Griffiths Prize has been awarded to Professor Khalil Ezzinbi from...